Organic Beauty

Brand_group

Now I’m normally not the typical organic type person, but you could say being diagnosed with cancer has helped me turn over a new leaf. I’m not saying I went COMPLETELY organic because God knows I still love my Shake Shack and Taco Bell, but there are a few things that I’ve changed about my everyday ritual. I’m now going to share some products I’ve started to use!

  1. Avalon Organics Shampoo. To be fair, I didn’t really have a choice with this one. Being that I’m so lucky to still have my hair from the cold caps, I was given a choice of a bunch of different organic shampoos and my mom & I felt that this was the best one. (Side note: I only wash my hair about twice a week and don’t really condition it either vis-a-vis cold caps. I really hope I just used vis-a-vis correctly.) Avalon Organics use all plant-based organic ingredients from trusted sources. They also pride themselves in being vegan, cruelty-free and biodegradable. Their products contain no GMOs, no parabens, no harsh sulfates and no synthetic fragrances or colors. The shampoo I use is a thickening, biotin B-complex shampoo. It stimulates the scalp to encourage hair growth and strengthens hair strands. It also smells amazing.
  2. Tom’s Deodorant. I always heard that regular deodorants or antiperspirants that contained aluminum caused cancer but I never took it that seriously. So once I was actually diagnosed with cancer, I flipped out and made the switch (a little late there, am I right?)  Their deodorants are aluminum free. Some of the ingredients included in their products are licorice root extract, hops extract, mint, stevia, and chamomile flower extract. They DON’T use: artificial colors, flavors, fragrances or preservatives such as parabens and formaldehyde, or animal ingredients. The majority of their products are vegan as they use plant based alternatives for ingredients which are typically made from animal ingredients. I use their long lasting, 24 hour odor protection deodorant in the wild lavender scent. I love how it smells, but my boyfriend not so much.
  3. Origins. Origins is a skincare, bath & body, and makeup brand that I was already a little familiar with, thanks to their Clear Improvements Charcoal Mask. On their website, they have a “Purity Promise” which states: “Origins products are consciously formulated using the highest quality plant, earth, and sea ingredients combined with safe, non-toxic alternatives and advanced science.” They blend ingredients from nature with non-toxic alternatives to create safe and high performance products. Some of their ingredients include: apricot, carrot, chamomile, charcoal, coffee, cucumber, ginger, goji berry, grapefruit, green tea, lavender, orange, papaya, peppermint, rice, rose clay, sea salts, shea butter, sunflower and tumeric (which is supposed to help fight disease like cancer.) They DON’T use: parabens, propylene glycol, mineral oil, petroleum, and animal ingredients besides cruelty free honey and beeswax. They even use earth-friendly packaging and practices!

I’m sure you can see a pattern here in these three companies and their products. Hopefully we can all be a little wiser with what we’re putting on our bodies and in our hair, and hopefully this makes you want to go out and try some of these products.

Xoxo,

Breezy

2 thoughts on “Organic Beauty

  1. Nice work Breezy. Maybe you can make some recommendations for these products in the man version. I would like to try some but don’t think lavender should be my scent. Keep up the good writing. Very informative.

    Like

Leave a Reply

